[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Yet another scam

Dr. Meyer Magarici escribió:

> I've just tryed their Microsoft Banner.
> Do you think a company such as Microsoft would join a Spam ?
> I am not so sure this is a scam, but I do'nt mind receiving an ocassional junk
> mail.
> Meyer
>
> Daniel Frieling escribió:
>
> > This is obviously a *personalized* SPAM message. I'm sure the sender has no
> > idea what/who Pedtalk is. You should not respond to the original sender as
> > this will verify that your email address is valid with this spammer and you
> > will get even more junk mail. Just bite you lip and hit <DELETE>
> >
> > Just so you know, the site referenced wants to sell you airline tickets or
> > something like that.
> >
> > Danny
> >
> > At 09:27 PM 7/26/98 -0400, you wrote:
> > >INTERNET: wrote:
> > >
> > > > I'm sorry to interject this on Pedtalk, but I was sure you would want to
> > > > know!
> > >
> > >Wrong.  This is supposed to be a listserv related to *pediatrics*.  Am I
> > >the only person who is NOT interested in yet-another-scam?
> > >
> > > > There is a company that is going public called Travelzoo.
> > >
> > >This bears all the hallmarks of a scam.  Besides "Travelzoo," I've heard of
> > >two other companies in the past couple of months who were doing this, and
> > >Peter (my programmer husband and scam/hoax debunker) found a few more while
> > >researching Travelzoo.  And bless his heart, he found a message from
> > >someone else who had shared the "good news" explaining just what all these
> > >companies are actually getting with this scam: addresses of "regular
> > >people" to send out spam Email.  (This is apparently fairly easy to do,
> > >Peter occasionally sends out messages with a return address like
> > >.)  Her address had been used as the "from" on spam
> > >mailings and she'd been reported to her Internet provider.  He also found
> > >FAQs on Travelzoo and another company, both based in the Bahamas
> > >(eliminating using the SEC to check them out) and with identical FAQs
> > >(promising, among other things, to not sell your Email address -- ha! --
> > >and not even saying the company WILL go public, just that it might).
> > >
> > > > Yahoo did the same thing when they went public (7/14/98 Yahoo closed at
> > > > $186.50).
> > >
> > >Your source for this information?  I've been investing in publicly-traded
> > >stocks for over ten years and never heard this.  What's Yahoo's symbol?
> > >Legitimate companies do NOT need to give away stock to create interest in
> > >their IPO (Initial Public Offering).  Companies like Genentech saw their
> > >stock price go through the roof even when they had never shown a profit and
> > >didn't even have a ready-to-market product!  Companies "go public" when
> > >they need additional funds to expand, so giving stock away would be
> > >counterproductive (to say the least).
> > >
> > >Come on.  First of all, if it sounds too good to be true it probably is.
> > >Second of all, anything that urges you to sucker others in is even less
> > >likely to be legit.  Finally, no scam should be promoted here!
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Sylvia Steiger RN SFNP BS NFPP, Cheyenne Wyoming USA
> > > 
> > > who will NOT be signing up for "free stock"
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> > ****************************************************************************
> > Daniel Frieling                         mailto:
> > Pediatric Software Intl., Inc.  http://www.compukid.com
> >                   CompuKID, The Pediatric Toolkit
> >             Computer software for primary care pediatrics
> > (800) WELL-CHILD (800-935-5244)    Outside the USA: (802) 651-0809
> > ****************************************************************************
> >
>
> --
> BM?½



--
BM?½